Phase 3

Phase 3 covers the final 2 years of the course and consists of 10 Teaching periods:

  • Internal medicine
  • Surgery
  • Critical care (emergency and intensive care)
  • Selective term
  • Psychiatry
  • Obstetrics & gynaecology
  • Paediatrics
  • General practice
  • Elective term – this term may be completed at any hospital in the world, subject to Faculty approval (for more information, see the Faculty website)
  • Internship preparation (PRINT)

Students are allocated to a teaching site for both years of Phase 3; however, a number of courses are allocated independently by the individual schools that run them. Local students must complete at least 4 weeks in one of these courses in a rural setting (hospitals include Grafton, Lismore, Kempsey, Orange and Broken Hill); however, the option also exists to do one or both years in a Rural Clinical School (Wagga Wagga, Albury, Port Macquarie or Coffs Harbour). Each Rural Clinical School takes around 14 students in each of year 5 and 6, meaning that roughly a quarter of local students will spend a significant amount of time in a Rural School. Preference is given to rural entry students; however rural entry students may also be co-opted to attend a Rural Clinical School if insufficient students preference Rural Schools. Please note that international students are generally unable to undertake either short or long attachments to rural hospitals or the Rural Clinical Schools due to the structure of the Federal funding arrangements.

Assessment in Phase 3 varies from term to term, and each term has specific learning outcomes. More information about specific course assessments will be added later.

In addition, there is a Biomedical Sciences viva voce examination at the end of Year 5, which must be passed before you can leave for your elective term.

At the conclusion of Year 6, the Phase 3 portfolio is submitted, which is also a barrier examination. Other details for final Phase 3 assessments are still being finalised.

Once you graduate, you will be entitled to the title Doctor and you will be able to work as a junior medical officer (commonly called an intern). Almost all JMOs complete their intern year in a new graduate training program to provide appropriate supervision and training while they gain experience. Places are allocated according to a preference system; currently, the supervising body in NSW is IMET (NSW Institute of Medical Education and Training, a division of NSW Health). Each state has a separate body, meaning a graduate can apply to multiple states and receive multiple offers (only one offer per state however). Each state gives slightly different preference to local and international graduates, and to graduates from within the state, from another state or from overseas.

After 2 years as a JMO (the 2nd year is usually referred to as the resident year), you will be eligible to apply to one of the specialist Colleges to study a Fellowship (specialty) with them – trainee specialists are called registrars. Fellowship training can take anywhere from 3-6 years depending on the specialty, meaning a grand total of 11-14 years since you started your medical degree.

Once you have earned your Fellowship, you can go into private practice – you can continue to work in hospitals without a Fellowship but the Federal Government will not allocate you an unrestricted Medicare provider number, necessary for private practice, without a Fellowship. This is true even for General Practice, which is not the case in many other countries.